There are countless social media platforms working on the internet nowadays. You may have been using most of them because it has become a common habit to use various platforms for social interaction. One of those most used platforms around the globe is Snapchat where people share their pictures and get interacted with various people.
Like other social media platforms, you can connect with your friends over this platform or make new friends using the search bar. In simple words, you can make new friends, can chat with them, share pictures, and enjoy a lot by sharing your thoughts with them.
Similarly, you can block any of your friends on Snapchat to disconnect with them over this platform. The main question that comes to mind is when you block someone on Snapchat do the messages delete? It is important to know because you may have shared some confidential information or personal pictures with them.
So, you must have to get the answer to this question to take some precautions while using this platform. Here is the brief answer to this question and many others related to Snapchat that will let you use this platform with confidence.
What Happens When You Block Someone?
First of all, you should know what will happen when you click on the block button after browsing someone’s profile. By doing this, you will restrict that specific person from watching your pictures, videos, or any other type of content you are going to share there.
The opponent person and you both will become invisible to each other on Snapchat. You can’t take part in any discussion in the comments section of pictures with that person. Also, you will not be able to watch what they have shared over this platform.
Similarly, the opponent person will not be able to see what you have shared and what are you writing on any of your mutual friend’s pictures. This is what will happen to both of you when you have blocked someone on Snapchat.
Multiple reasons might be at the backend of your decision to block someone. It may be due to some conflicts between both of you. Maybe, you don’t like to talk to that person, or may he is sharing some inappropriate pictures. In short, there may be any of the above reasons or any other in this regard.
When You Block Someone On Snapchat Do The Messages Delete?
Once you have blocked someone on Snapchat, you may be looking to know whether your chat is protected or not. Whenever you click on the block button, it will erase the conversation you have done with that person. You can check out Snapchat conversation history too for confirming that there is nothing available between both of you.
You can also check to go through the list of conversations you had done with different friends. There will be nothing on your end that shows your connection with that particular person. But on the other hand, there will be no change even a minor one.
He/she will keep getting the same messages with the same interface. There will be no notification for that particular person to tell him/her that you have blocked that person. In simple words, you can say that there is no such notification process as other social media platforms.
Here is how you can block someone on Snapchat in simple steps.
How To Block Someone on Snapchat?
There are two main methods through which you can block someone on Snapchat. The process will be straightforward if you have followed our upcoming guidelines. It will not take more than a few minutes to get the task done with the following steps.
Using Snapchat Conversation Page
In the first method, we are going to show you how to block someone on Snapchat using the conversation page. First of all, you have to sign in to your account to use any of the following methods. After doing this, you should follow these steps.
- Go to the conversation page by swiping the camera screen to the right
- Search for the person
- Tap for a while on the conversation
- Click on the More button
- Look for the Block option
- Tap on that button
Using Snapchat Friend List Page
Similarly, you can also block someone from the list of friends you have made on Snapchat. You only need to follow these steps to get the task done and enjoy your life on this social media platform.
- Click on the profile picture available in the top left corner
- Scroll down to search the “My Friends” option
- Tap on that option
- Search for that particular person
- Click on his name
- Tap on the More option
- Choose the Block button
By following these simple steps, you can block someone on Snapchat. Now, you have learned when you block someone on Snapchat do the messages delete or not. Also, we have shown how to block a person on this social media platform.
Can I Block a Person Who is Not My Friend on Snapchat?
Sometimes, you want to get secure and avoid someone on social networking sites. The very first question that comes to mind is can I block someone who is not my friend on Snapchat like other social media platforms.
The answer is “Yes”, you can do this. Like other social media platforms, you only need to search for that person. After accessing his profile, open it and look for the three dots given in the right bar. By clicking on that button, you will get some options along with block one.
To block that person, you have to tap on that option and confirm it because that person is not from your friend list. In this way, you only need to do an extra step to confirm blocking and the rest of the process will be almost the same.
Is Blocking And Removing The Same?
Another question that comes to mind after having a look at the block options is “Is blocking and removing the same”? The answer is “No” because a contact that you have blocked will not get interaction with your account.
He will never be able to see what you have shared on your timeline unless you have unblocked that person. On the other hand, removing a person will only erase it from your friend list. Your conversation will remain there on both ends.
Along with this, he can also see what you have shared on Snapchat. He can write a comment on your post as well as send you a friend request again without any hurdles. So, removing and blocking is not the same because they will create two different environments for you on this platform.
What are the Alternatives to Blocking a Person?
Sometimes, you may not want to block someone from Snapchat but want to keep some distance from them. In such a case, you can use the following guidelines to use some alternative methods of blocking a person.
If you want to get distance from a group of your friends, you can mute notifications for that group. It will take a few minutes to do this using some options from the settings of your account. You only need to follow our guidelines to do this.
- Go to that group
- Click on the three dots available in the right top corner
- Go to message notifications
- Choose the Silent option
It will mute the notifications from that particular group on Snapchat. In simple words, you will not be notified about any message or shared data unless you have opened that chat.
When you want to avoid any of your particular friends, you can do the same task by choosing the mute button. Here is what you have to do in this regard.
- Open that person’s profile
- Click on the three dots
- Look for the mute story option
- Toggle on the button
Congratulations, you have created a separate space where you will not get any story highlights from that person.
By reading the above blog, you must have learned when you block someone on Snapchat do the messages delete or not. Also, you have got a step-by-step method to block someone or remove him from your friend list.
By following our guide, you can easily do this task within a few seconds. Along with this, you can also change some privacy techniques to avoid some people. But before that, you should have to check how many people you have followed on Snapchat to keep an eye on whether you need to remove them or not.